Another new chapter

This is so weird, my internship is over and has been for a month, and now I am sitting in my new room at university waiting for final year to start. Where has the time gone?!

For the past  few days I’ve been looking back on the year and just be so amazed at what God has done in my life.

Since being back friends have commented on things they’ve noticed are different, like fears I have overcome and changes in my feelings about home.

I have never been homesick really, I’ve always loved to leave home and go on a new adventure. I guess this year I realised it was me escaping problems back home but this year God has sat me down and worked on every part of me that was broken and I am on the way to recovery, now with my heart set in the right place. But unfortunately because of this now I am incredibly homesick, I miss home, my family, my new friends, my old job and everything that represents the change that has happened this year. It’s great though, I have a solid foundation and place I can truly call home.

Another awesome thing God has healed is my love for baking! I use to bake for everyone in school, if it was their birthday they’d get a cake made by me. It was a lot of my parents money spent and time wasted just to be liked and with the hope to become wanted and popular. My heart breaks for the old me that saw it was ok to get so stressed just so I would have a perfect cake made for someone who wasn’t very nice to me and all their friends would eat the cake instantly – one moment my beautiful creation was there and the next devoured. See, the idea was there but the ingredient weren’t right.

Gift + Desire to be liked = A minute of glory

This year Gods redeemed my baking, I started to bake again for other people after a while of avoiding it. This year I was able to show my love, support, encouragement and thankfulness to people by baking for them. I call this the redeemed baking. And it is such a wonderful feeling now wanting to bless people with the gift rather than wanting a moment of glory. I believe now I have the correct ingredients for using this gift.

Gift + Love = Blessed people

There are many more areas God has healed and fixed in my life this year, I could go on and on and on and on!! But I think for now I’ll leave you with my favourite passage for the year….

A Song of Praise

“1 I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction,
    out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock,
    making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth,
    a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear,
    and put their trust in the Lord.”

Psalm 40:1-3

Leave a Reply

