Ask, Seek and Knock

At the moment I’m really struggling with understanding my desires and knowing God’s desires. Are they the same? Do I desire something God doesn’t desire for me? It’s confusing!! After weeks of praying and calling out to the Lord, the Lord heard my prayer and answered (Psalm 116:1). No he didn’t give me the answer I wanted to hear but the answer I needed to hear.

During my quiet time today Psalm 37 was the study chapter and these few verses really stood out.

“Take delight in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him and he will do this:
he will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn,
your vindication like the noonday sun.
Be still before the Lord
and wait patiently for him;
do not fret when people succeed in their ways,
when they carry out their wicked schemes.”

Psalm 37:4-7

I feel like I hear Psalm 37:4 all the time! But I never truly listen and take it on board, it took me till I read the whole chapter for it to really help me understand it and understand what it reads. It ultimately says trust in God. Let me just expand….

Reading this I truly understood not just with my mind but also with my heart that instead of pursuing the things I desire, delighting in God is the way forward and from that he will give me the desires of my heart. If I truly want God to guide me in my decisions I NEED to properly ‘Commit your (my) way to the Lord’ (v5) and this means giving God the ultimate control of my future and the decisions I might feel pressured to make. I need to ask God and then wholeheartedly trust in him.

Nicky Gumbel describes it as ‘a simple three-part process’:

1. Commit the decision to God in prayer, ask him to open the right doors for you, and close the ones that aren’t right.

2. Trust that he is in control.

3. Watch in faith for him to act as you continue on your ‘way’, in the expectation that God will act.

And God REALLY wanted me to know this. In the sunday school I help in, today we studied Matthew 7:7-12 (Ask, Seek and Knock) and then were referred to Psalm 37:4 (above) – interesting right? Matthew 7:7-12 reminds me of how generous God is and how much he loves us. God wants to bless us, he wants to give us gifts and shower us with blessings but the main thing missing……our lack of trust in him. And this needs to change! But how do you trust God?!

Knowing with your heart and mind that he is in ultimate control. Not worrying about what you will do next or in the future but knowing its in Gods hands and being at peace with that.

Trusting in God with your life and decisions brings peace in your heart. Verse 7 reminds us that we should ‘be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him’. And by patiently wait for him I don’t think he means wait with expectancy because you’ve deserved it or you’ve planned it yourself but because you know God is great and is your provider, and knows what’s best for you.

Finally the three answers I have learnt and I believe God gives us:

Yes = YAYYYYY!!!

Wait = Patience….

No = it’s not good for you, I know whats best for you my precious child.

I know I can see from what I’ve learnt today when God wants you to know something HE WILL make sure you hear it. Quite often I worry about whether I wont hear God or if God will know how to get me where I want to be but thats totally wrong I forget who God is. God is my creator, is faithful, my protector and my resting place. He knows all about me, he knows when I sit down and when I get up. He knows my thoughts before I think them even before I say a word, HE already knows it (Psalm 139:1-4). He is my Father, my God.

Leave a Reply

