Not right now.

I have to admit that when I started writing this a few months ago it was pretty difficult to write, so I stopped and waited a while. Now I am ready, ready to share God’s awesome work in transforming a broken hearted girl.

Last year I was offered my dream internship, which was abroad. I had everything ready: my housing, travel, church, money and pretty much anything else you can think of. Then one night I learnt my visa hadn’t worked out, I couldn’t go to the place I had been dreaming of and expectantly waiting to go to for months. The next day it hit me like a ton of bricks I spent the whole day crying, I never normally cry I hardly cry but that day I couldn’t stop.

Looking back now I can see that having that rejected visa was probably one of the best things to ever happen to me. That moment allowed me to listen to God. It helped me to hear him say “not right now”.

During that waiting period for my visa I spent the whole time organizing the move and listening to people say “Don’t worry, I know you’ll get there”. But looking back now I realize I had put my hope in the wrong things. I put my hope in people telling me I was going to go there and in my own strength. During that time I didn’t rely on God. I thought I was, I felt I was doing his will – why wouldn’t he want me to go there?

Since then I am now able to stand and say, that was one of the best things to happen to me. I can totally see how God has used that situation to work in my life and on my relationship with him. I want to encourage you to listen to God and remind you that God has an AMAZING plan for your life. He is going to use each one of you to shine his light and love in this broken world. Sometimes it’s difficult to see how God might use you, but you could never ever comprehend what God has in store for you or the way in which he is going to use you – but let me just tell you it will be GREAT.

In light of my learning curve I have come up with 3 tips on decision-making which I hope will be helpful to myself and you.

1.    LEARN to be patient – Being patient is so difficult in an age where we can get almost anything we want immediately but it’s an amazing gift to have and develop. In Exodus throughout the account of Moses we see God’s plan isn’t always a walk in the park, but God is in control and he uses hardships that people go through in life for good.

“But I have raised you up for this very purpose, that I might show you my power and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.”
Exodus 9:16 (NIV)

2.   LISTEN to God – In Proverbs 3 it talks about putting your trust in the LORD, wholeheartedly focusing and depending on him. Through this your relationship will grow and God will guide you.

“Trust the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

3.   FOLLOW your shepherd – In John 10 Jesus illustrates that as our shepherd he will look after us and go before us, so we need to trust him and listen for his voice.

“He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has bought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice.” John 10:3-4 (NIV)

Wouldn’t it be great if we could give everything to God and totally trust, and depend on him.

Leave a Reply

