The Call of Abram

The lesson this week from study group was about Gods promise. We covered ALOT of bible, including Noah and the flood, and Abram.

You know what amazed me the most? The fact God asked Abram to leave this new civilization he was living in that was developing, growing and becoming a cool place to be (Genesis 12:1).  I had never realised the context before and what that meant.

Now I know why the promise God makes to Abram is one HUGE one:

“I will make you into a great nation and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.” Genesis 12:2-3

Reading over this promise it just opens my eyes to the endless possibilities of Gods plan for my life – its awesome! The fact God tells Abram to leave this safe, comfortable and flourishing place, and follow him into the unknown is so cray cray! Then God’s promise to Abram sounds so great and enormous that only the God who created the world would be able to fulfill it.

Then the next bit plays a huge part in fulfilling the promise…. Abram listens and obeys, he does what God asks (Genesis 12:4) – what trust Abram had in God! Sometimes we think its difficult to trust in Gods plans for us rather than our own but seeing Abram’s trust in God really challenges me. Continually God reminds Abram of the promise he WILL keep:

“Look up at the heavens and count the stars – if indeed you can count them.” Then he said to him, “So shall your offspring be.” Genesis 15:5

But wait! Abram ‘s wife Sarah ‘was past the age of childbearing’ (Genesis 18:11-12), she even laughed at the idea of having a child because it seems so impossible. If God was to really fulfill this promise surely he’d have to get a move on? But no! Its Gods perfect timing, not ours. He is after all our creator. And yet again we see God is faithful when he fulfills the promise of giving Abram and Sarah offspring with the birth of Isaac (Genesis 21). Here we see God made the impossible possible.

I see a similarity here with my own life, I take things into my own hands because I don’t see God moving or making things happen so I think surely he needs some help? But no, God is continually patient with me and waits for me to come back to him and rely on him wholeheartedly.

Then forward to Genesis 25:1-2. Oh snap. Abram had more kids. Here we see God is continuing to reveal and fulfill his promise, in his own time.

From reading just a bit of the book of Genesis we can already see how faithful, powerful and very awesome God is! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

